Supervisr: Merge Rules

Merge Rules: Accessing
The Rules engine can be accessed directly by pressing the Rules link located under the Supervisr tab in the Navigation Menu.
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 12:44 PM
Merge Rules: Creating
DataGroomr allows users to create, edit and remove custom rules that control the behavior of merges.  These include the selection of the master (or surviving record) and how fields will be merged.  To access the Rules feature, see this link. To Create a new rule, press the ADD RULE button. This will open t...
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 12:45 PM
Merge Rules: Editing
DataGroomr allows users to create, edit and remove custom rules that control the behavior of merges.  These include the selection of the master (or surviving record) and how fields will be merged.  To access the Rules feature, see this link. To Edit an existing rule, select it and then press the EDIT button. ...
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 3:21 PM
Merge Rules: Create Master Record Selection
A Master Record Selection rule is created by sorting duplicate records.  The sort criteria is specified in the Rule Designer section by dragging the Sort group by, then sort by, and Set master to objects into the rules work area. Each rule must start with the Sort group by object, which determines the initial s...
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 12:46 PM
Merge Rules: Creating Field Value
A Field Value Rule is intended to modify the data that is saved with the master (or surviving) record when a merge is performed (this differs from the Master Record Selection rules which determines which record will be retained).   The rules are built with the assistance of the Rule Designer. The tabs on the lef...
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 12:46 PM
Merge Rules: Preview Section
The Rule Editor contains a Preview section which displays the results of your rule using sample data. Note: A flag next to the Rule Preview label will automatically display the validity of the current rule.  Occasionally you will find that the auto-generated sample data does not sufficiently test your rule. ...
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 12:43 PM
Merge Rules: Setting a Default
A rule that is marked as as Default will be used by TRIMMR datasets and Mass Merge automatically.  However users may choose an alternate rule when configuring datasets (see Configure Datasets documentation for more info) or performing a Mass Merge. To set a rule as a default, select the rule and then press the ...
Tue, 24 Nov, 2020 at 9:21 AM
Merge Rules: Deleting
A rule can be deleted by selecting rule and then pressing the Trash button. Good to know: A rule that is labeled as the default cannot be deleted.  If you do wish to remove this rule, set another rule as the default.  See how to set default rules using this link.     
Mon, 23 Nov, 2020 at 12:47 PM